J.R. Gould Award Recipients

Individual Honors

J.R. Gould Awards

The Society's Jay R. Gould Award for excellence in teaching technical communication honors the distinguished teaching career of Professor Gould, whose academic mentorship of technical communication students guided many men and women into the profession. The award honors excellence in teaching that becomes true academic mentorship: the personal and professional concern that the best teachers extend to their students beyond the demands of the classroom and beyond even graduation as former students continue to grow throughout their professional careers. To be eligible for the award, a nominee must have been a member of the Society for Technical Communication for ten years and must have been involved in post-secondary education for at least fifteen years.

The following chapter members are recipients of the Society's Jay R. Gould Award.

Recipients of the Gould Award

Table contents

The first column shows the year of the award, the second column shows the name of the recipient, and the third column shows the citation.

Year Recipient Citation
2002 Alice Philbin, Ph.D., James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA Alice Philbin For the time and resources she devoted to making sure that her students received the education that would benefit them the most.

Looking for Chapter History

The Chapter History Committee is collecting information to include on this page. If you have pictures you'd like to add to our Photo Archives or information that will fill in the blanks, please send e-mail to chapter history information.

Last modified: March 15, 2019
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share with others