History: Chapter Presidents

Individual Honors

Since the Washington, DC – Baltimore (WDCB) Chapter's charter was presented in December 1955, the chapter has had many distinguished members serve as the chapter president. The following table lists the names we can find in our records. Unfortunately, not all records of chapter officers were sent to the Society office in the past. The Chapter History Committee is collecting information to include on this page. If you have photos for the archives or information that will fill in the blanks, please send an email message to:
chapter history information.

The following chapter members have served as president of the Washington, DC – Baltimore (WDCB) Chapter.

Chapter Presidents

Table contents

The first column shows the year served and the second column shows the name of the president / chairman for that year.

Year President
2023 Adam Bradley
2022 Tavia Record
2021 Tavia Record
2020 Tavia Record
2019 Tavia Record
2018 Richard Bogacz
2017 Greta Boller Buskirk and Richard Bogacz (Acting)
2016 Lori Meyer
2015 Sean Stevenson
2014 Ugur Akinci
2013 Muniza Arifin
2012 Carolyn Kelley Klinger
2011 Charlotte Glenn
2009-2010 Marylyn King
2008-2009 Marylyn King
2007-2008 Kristen Sweet
2006-2007 Kristen Sweet
2005-2006 Eddie VanArsdall
2004-2005 Kathy Bine
2003-2004 Daree Woodard
2002-2003 Carolyn Kelley Klinger
2001-2002 Carolyn Kelley Klinger
2000-2001 Cynthia A. Lockley
1999-2000 Janet F. Scharp
1998-1999 Cynthia A. Lockley
1997-1998 Leslie O'Gwin-Rivers
1996-1997 Susan Grodsky
1995-1996 Tracey Chiricosta
1994-1995 Charles Fisher
1993-1994 Peggy Yates
1992-1993 Gene McGuire
1991-1992 John Burlison
1990-1991 Paula Hollingsworth
1989-1990 Sally Jo Cummings
1988-1989 Annette Reilly
1987-1988 Michelle A. Didier
1986-1987 Suzanne Porter-Kuchay
1985-1986 John Burlison
1984-1985 Donnalyn Frey
1983-1984 Jorome T. Gibbon
1982-1983 E. Ray Wheeler
1981-1982 Austin T. Brown
Year Chairman
1980-1981 John Shipman
1979-1980 Norman H. Tennant
1978-1979 Renee K. Barnow
1977-1978 Luis L. Granados, Jr.
1976-1977 no record
1975-1976 no record
1974-1975 no record
1973-1974 Nelson Fitton
1972-1973 Marthe Harwell
1971-1972 Austin T. Brown
1971 STWP changes its name to the Society for Technical Communication (STC)
1970-1971 August Pugliese
1969-1970 Jesse Ostroff
1968-1969 no record
1967-1968 no record
1966-1967 no record
1965-1966 no record
1964-1965 no record
1963-1964 no record
1962-1963 no record
1961-1962 no record
1960-1961 no record
1960 STWE and the Technical Publishing Society merge to form the Society for Technical Writers and Publishers (STWP)
1959-1960 no record
1958-1959 no record
1957-1958 no record
1956-1957 no record
1957 TWE and the Society for Technical Writers merge to form the Society for Technical Writers and Editors (STWE)
1955-1956 no record
December 1955 Charter presented to the Washington, DC – Baltimore (WDCB) Chapter of the Association of Technical Writers and Editors (150 members; total TWE members: 600)
1953 In 1953, two organizations concerned with improving the practice of technical communication were founded on the East Coast: the Society of Technical Writers, and the Association of Technical Writers and Editors.
Last modified: 16 October 2022
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share with others